Skip to main content

Cornell's 2022-23 Fulbrighters

The Einaudi Center congratulates Cornell's 2022–23 Fulbright winners: two Fulbright-Hays doctoral awardees and 15 recent alumni selected for U.S. Student Program awards.

Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Program

Two Cornell PhD candidates received Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) fellowships. These prestigious awards cover travel, living, and research expenses for six to 12 months for the students and their families. All awardees conduct their research in languages other than English.

Daniel Dawson headshot

Daniel Dawson, History

Colombia and Spain

Dissertation: The Crashing Waves: Knowledge Networks, Intelligence Gathering, and the Politics of Negotiation in Seventeenth-Century New Granada

Dawson's research investigates the spread of knowledge and information in seventeenth-century New Granada (Colombia), where Spanish authorities struggled to defend their colonialist project from autonomous Indigenous and Black communities.

Astara Light headshot

Astara Light, History of Art & Visual Studies


Dissertation: Decoding Hauntings: Tracing the Movement of Visual Knowledge and Ecology Through Exhibitions of Indonesian Artists

Light's research investigates the work of contemporary Indonesian artists from Bali and Java, focusing on how they engage with environmental discussions and their visual representation of unseen beings (hauntology).

Fulbright U.S. Student Program

Fulbright U.S. Student awardee Vanessa Olguín ’22 arrived in Lima, Peru
Fulbright U.S. Student awardee Vanessa Olguín arrived in Lima, Peru, in September.

Bon voyage to Cornell’s bumper crop of Fulbright U.S. Student Program awardees! In 2022–23, 15 winners head out to host countries worldwide. Learn more about this year's awardees:

  • Micah Benoit ’21 (Brazil)
  • Alethia Chan ’22 (Indonesia)
  • Rachel Christopherson ’22 (Germany)
  • Jay Doshi ’22 (Canada)
  • Samantha Fountain ’22 (United Kingdom)
  • Aadi Kulkarni ’22 (Denmark)
  • Vanessa Olguín ’22 (Peru)
  • Supriya Pandit ’22 (India)
  • Megan Rochlin ’21 (Brazil)
  • Brendan Rosen, MPS ’21 (Philippines)
  • Odeya Rosenband ’22 (Czech Republic)
  • Elena Runfeldt ’22 (Barbados)
  • David Sheng ’22 (Japan)
  • Catherine St. Hilaire ’22 (Canada)
  • David Wang ’20 (Netherlands)